Little Monster Jubilee Party

I’ve just got back from a very exciting day on the Southbank for the Queen’s Jubilee pageant on The Thames.  I’ve been working for the past few weeks on some fabric puppets for the National Theatre and as such I was invited to a BBQ to celebrate the event. I took my family of baby button and my partner along and of course couldn’t help but leave a little a little present before I set off home.

But before my yarnstorm, here’s a little pic of the Queen looking at our display show casing Joey the Warhorse…

Here’s a little video of The National Theatre’s Salute to The Queen in case you didn’t get to see it.

And finally, here’s the little monster party I happened upon along the river as I went home.

They looked like they were having so much fun. Shame I missed the Pimms and cucumber sandwiches!

DSC_3010

Each monster has 6 different shades of colour – one for each decade of reign!

DSC_3009

DSC_3014

What do you think? Did anyone else see any yarnstorms over the weekend? I’m sure a few were popping up for the Jubilee!

This entry was published on June 3, 2012 at 9:03 pm. It’s filed under I made this!, Knitting, Yarn Storms and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Little Monster Jubilee Party

  1. Love the monster party! I live in Tasmania, and I did a bit of my own yarnbombing/yarnstorming for our event called Wrapped in St. Marys … the link is http://stitchedupmama.wordpress.com/2012/06/04/stitchedupmama-goes-to-town/

  2. I just had to laugh out loud at your interpetation! Very clever!

  3. I love the yarn bombing, and the photo! I missed the jubilee because I was at a festival…but I did learn to crochet, so it wasn’t all wasted! Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 689 other followers

